Consumption

The internet is getting smaller.  Well, to me it is.   I am usually finished reading the internet before 8am.   Everything I want to read for the day has been read and I’m off to do more productive things.  

I used to have dozens of sites bookmarked and RSS feeds and saved links.   It used to take me all day to consume the internet.  Years ago, I had days at work where I could literally go a full 8 hours without getting a single thing done because I was surfing the web.  Don’t lie – you’ve done it too.

ESPN.com….CNN.com…DrudgeReport….BoxOfficeMojo…Tyler….on and on and on.  There’s lots of internet out there to read so you’d better get started.

Only now I don’t open my Twitter feed.  I’ve never been big on Facebook.  I skip the news sites.  I take in the occasional Grantland article or read the headlines on Hacker News when I’m walking to the car.  But no more Boy Genius or TechCrunch or Altucher Confidential.   No more Engadget or TUAW or SI.com.   I don’t open ClutchFans or The Atlantic or The Economist or whatever.

For some reason, it all started to run together.   And it all seemed unimportant.   I reached a tipping point where it didn’t seem to matter so much what someone else thought about the Foxconn plant in China or the Yankees decision to bench A-Rod.    There is just so much of “it” that none of it sticks out.   Lots of noise, very little signal.  

You know what?   I don’t miss it much.  And I don’t feel uninformed or unentertained.   I didn’t become dumb by ignoring vast parts of the internet.  In fact, I’m probably a bit smarter for doing so.  

So now I’m going to work, and then this evening I’ll probably go outside and do something non-internety.   And I’m sure if I have seller’s remorse and return, the internet will be  waiting for me with entirely new content tomorrow.  Until I get back, enjoy Delta Spirit doing “White table”

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

